First Day of School 2012

WOW! I can’t believe it’s that time of year again…school time!!!
For the last 6 years I have had to privilege of being with my children each and everyday. While some days were awesome and some were not so great, I loved it!
My children are so special and I felt God was calling us to homeschool and be together.
After moving to Canada last year we continued to homeschool and had a year of mixed emotions. Gator and Buddy did the work presented and continued to grow and learn, but our time with friends was far a few between. The home school community is very different here and we had an awful time making it work.
After MUCH prayer we felt God was placing it on our hearts to put the children in school. While I would have loved to find a hybrid school they are non-exsistenct in this area, so we searched for a Christian school and found Maple Ridge Christian School.
Today is the fist day and here they are…..

First Day @ MRCS

First Day @ MRCS


Buddy is starting 10th grade and Gator is starting 7th….How did my babies get this big? hehe 🙂

I gave them each a can of 7*UP with this note attached……
7*UP -Lifting
ways to start your new year of school
1. Wake Up- Decide to have a good day. “This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice
and be glad in it.” Psalms 118:24
2. Dress Up- The best way to dress is to put on a smile. A smile is an inexpensive way to improve your looks.
3. Shush Up- Say nice things and learn to listen. “Listen to advice and accept instruction, that you may gain wisdom in the future.” Proverbs 19:20
4. Stand Up- For what you believe in! Stand for something or you will fall for anything.
5. Look Up- To the Lord. “I can do all things through him who strengthens me.” Philippians 4:13
6. Reach Up- For something higher. As Jiminy Cricket sings “High Hopes” always try to better yourself.
HAVE FAITH!
7. Lift Up- Your prayers. Do not worry about anything: instead
PRAY ABOUT EVERYTHING.

(I also made enough for all of Gators class…I think her teacher was surprised and happy! If you want a copy that is super cute with graphics email me.)

We are prayerful that God is watching them and will make this one amazing year!

Grace and Peace,
Sunflower

5 thoughts on “First Day of School 2012

  1. Vicki, I feel your mixed emotions. With life you often have to re-evaluate your plans. We made the choice of putting our kids in school in Mexico to learn Spanish and I don’t regret that choice. I’m sure your kids will have a blast (of course they’ll miss you every moment too… ; ) ) As for you, you’ll have to pick up some more hobbies, sew more, see friends!! I’ve enjoyed two years of a pampered Aztec Princes lifestyle. I’m back to home schooling Gwen and Nate and It’s like a full-time job. Much different than those elementary school years! But I love it! Point is, each year brings new challenges, new opportunities and you have to do what is right for everyone. Way to go, you have two lovely children who just so happen to be really good lookin too! Nice job Mom and Dad, keep up the good work!

  2. Vicki, you have received a lot of wisdom from your friends so I am not going to to comment. I’m so proud of these precious grandchildren. Do not every sell yourself short in what you have done for them. They are treasures and memories you will never forget. Believe me when you get my age, you remember all the good times with your children. I’m so proud you are my daughter in law and proud of what you have accomplished. Please don’t ever think putting them in school is a negative. God has his plan and that’s what it is now. I love you and respect what you have done to help my precious grandkids obtain their highest goals. Thank you and thank you for being such a godly wife for my precious son. He loves you dearly and I love you as a daughter.

    • Dianne, Thank you so much for the very kind words. I have done what God has called me to do and hopefully provided my children with a great education. This year will be a good time to recharge and keep focused for what God has in store for the coming years. Thanks again. Love you too ❤

  3. Hey lady! I began following your blog this summer. Have thought of you many times since you left Cumming! Miss seeing you! Yesterday was our first day of school and I read your 7-Up Lifting Ways … I would love a cute copy to put in my school room if you have one. Please keep in touch and let me know how the kids are doing in their new venture to attend school. Love to you all!

    P.S. Why did you move to Canada? Just wondering. Always wondered after you guys left. Keith would love for us to move back to Hawaii. Don’t know how that would happen. Sandy

    On Tue, Sep 4, 2012 at 4:57 PM, maplesunflower

Leave a Reply

